:: eye of the storm ::

About Me

A 27-year-old PA student who wants to visit all seven continents, write a book, work at a pediatric clinic in Africa, and basically meet as many of the world's challenges as possible.

View my complete profile

current mood:
current mood

Life List

(already accomplished)

Become a PA

Visit all 7 continents

Take a SwimTrek trip

Bike through Western Europe

Raft the Grand Canyon

Improve my Spanish proficiency

Go on safari in Africa

Trace my roots at Ellis Island

Vacation in Hawaii

Work on a hospital ship in a Third World country

Celebrate New Year's in Times Square

Visit all 50 states (29 to go: AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, MI, MN, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, ND, OK, OR, RI, SD, TX, UT, VT, WA, WV, WI, WY)

See the ruins at Pompeii

Swim in Capri's Blue Grotto

Tour Mt. Vesuvius

Throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain

Tour the Colosseum

Visit the D-Day beaches

See the Mona Lisa

Visit the palace at Versailles

See the Acropolis and Parthenon

See the Egyptian pyramids

Hike the Inca Trail

Walk El Camino Santiago

Take an Alaskan cruise

View the Taj Mahal at sunrise

Hike Table Mountain in South Africa

Climb through the Amazon canopy

Walk at least part of the Great Wall of China

Get laser hair removal

Learn to surf, ski, and snowboard

Learn to drive a stick-shift

Learn to play the piano

Go on a tropical cruise

Ride horseback on the beach

Ride in a hot air balloon

Get tickets to the Olympics

Go to adult Space Camp

Witness a shuttle launch from up close

Build a full-sized snowman

Sew a quilt out of my old race T-shirts

Update and continue my Life Scrapbook

Become the oldest person to ever do the River Run

Live to be a happy, healthy 100 years old - at least!

(unlikely dreams)

woensdag 26 juli 2006

Finally, a good day:

1) I got the job at Camp Laurel. They can't put me in a counselor position because I have to leave a little early (for my Boston swim), but they've set me up to work in the office for a few days. Apparently their office is open from 7am till 10pm each day, so 15 hours, and I'll work about 9 hours of that. No real details yet on sleeping quarters, salary, etc. because I had to run back to the stables to pick up my campers after their lesson, but I definitely have a position, so I'm pretty happy. They're going to email me with further details. But really, whatever I do and whatever they pay me, it beats (a) paying for six nights in a motel, or (b) spending six nights with strangers (Dad's friends) and having nothing to do.

2) My car got fixed, for real this time (I hope!), for no charge. This time it was apparently pretty straightforward - just a burnt-out fuse or something. Cross your fingers that this was the ticket.

3) The only person able to give me a ride to the dealership was Rob, our male nurse, and his vehicle happens to be... a motorcycle! (Yes, Mom, he is a careful driver, and I wore a helmet and long clothing, and the speed limit never exceeded 50.) I had never been on a motorcycle before, so it was a lot of fun for me.

4) I am off tonight, typing this post while sitting in (where else?) Panera. And I've discovered a new favorite sandwich... the Smokehouse Turkey panini. Also, they're trying to kick us all out now so they can close, so they're giving away the pastries that are left behind the counter! So I got a free brownie and (for tomorrow) a mini lemon poppyseed cake. Can't beat that!

Tomorrow: on duty till 1am
Friday: late wakeup, beach trip!
Saturday: off all day!
Sunday: on duty till 1am
Monday: bowling trip
Tuesday: nothing special
Wednesday: final night off
Thursday: on duty till 1am
Friday: last activity day
Saturday: campers leave, staff clean up and have our party
Sunday: begin work at Camp Laurel!

My Stuff

Blogs I Read

Blogging Since 2003

Free Blog Counter
Poker Blog

Powered by Blogger