:: eye of the storm ::

About Me

A 27-year-old PA student who wants to visit all seven continents, write a book, work at a pediatric clinic in Africa, and basically meet as many of the world's challenges as possible.

View my complete profile

current mood:
current mood

Life List

(already accomplished)

Become a PA

Visit all 7 continents

Take a SwimTrek trip

Bike through Western Europe

Raft the Grand Canyon

Improve my Spanish proficiency

Go on safari in Africa

Trace my roots at Ellis Island

Vacation in Hawaii

Work on a hospital ship in a Third World country

Celebrate New Year's in Times Square

Visit all 50 states (29 to go: AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, MI, MN, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, ND, OK, OR, RI, SD, TX, UT, VT, WA, WV, WI, WY)

See the ruins at Pompeii

Swim in Capri's Blue Grotto

Tour Mt. Vesuvius

Throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain

Tour the Colosseum

Visit the D-Day beaches

See the Mona Lisa

Visit the palace at Versailles

See the Acropolis and Parthenon

See the Egyptian pyramids

Hike the Inca Trail

Walk El Camino Santiago

Take an Alaskan cruise

View the Taj Mahal at sunrise

Hike Table Mountain in South Africa

Climb through the Amazon canopy

Walk at least part of the Great Wall of China

Get laser hair removal

Learn to surf, ski, and snowboard

Learn to drive a stick-shift

Learn to play the piano

Go on a tropical cruise

Ride horseback on the beach

Ride in a hot air balloon

Get tickets to the Olympics

Go to adult Space Camp

Witness a shuttle launch from up close

Build a full-sized snowman

Sew a quilt out of my old race T-shirts

Update and continue my Life Scrapbook

Become the oldest person to ever do the River Run

Live to be a happy, healthy 100 years old - at least!

(unlikely dreams)

dinsdag 24 januari 2006

Update on the progress with all the languages - of the new ones, French is the easiest, Wolof is the hardest, and Latin is the most satisfying to work through, but also the most complicated. Spanish is fun, albeit with too much busywork, and I'm not having any of the cross-language problems that I had in the Netherlands, so maybe I've finally gotten past all that.

As for my birthday weekend, I'll be going home for the family shindig on Sunday, and after the skydiving on Saturday I think I may get together with just a few people - Jenna, Nika, Hayley, Anna if she can, and maybe a few others - and go to dinner or something, and then maybe crash here with snacks and DVDs or lounge in Jenna's hot tub for a while. I don't really feel like throwing any sort of 'real' party here in the apartment, and while I'm not averse to going out, I am one of the very few team members who is 21, so that's probably not going to happen this year.

Tomorrow I have a Latin quiz, Thursday I have a very unpleasant 'lady' doctor's appointment, Friday I have the 'Dutch club' happy hour, Saturday I'm skydiving and hanging out with friends, Sunday I go home, Monday I'm officially 22, Tuesday I have a French exam and a Spanish quiz, and Wednesday - finally - I have a day with few to no extraneous activities, at least as far as it looks right now (unless you count that first automatically-withdrawn Roth-IRA contribution... so strenuous... LOL).

Now here comes the requisite bit about athletics: I need to swim 24k this week (I'm working up by 2k every week until April 1st; then I'll taper for the Tampa swim), which means I have to do one extra (distance) 4k practice on my own, apart from the five (largely sprint) 4k practices I do with CAST. Next week it'll be one extra 6k practice, and then the next eight weeks will look like this:

Total 28k - 20k with CAST = 08k alone [in 2 days, each ~4k]
Total 30k - 20k with CAST = 10k alone [in 2 days, each ~5k]
Total 32k - 20k with CAST = 12k alone [in 2 days, each ~6k]
Total 34k - 20k with CAST = 14k alone [in 2 days, each ~7k]
Total 36k - 20k with CAST = 16k alone [in 3 days, each ~5k]
Total 38k - 20k with CAST = 18k alone [in 3 days, each ~6k]
Total 40k - 20k with CAST = 20k alone [in 3 days, each ~7k]
Total 42k - 20k with CAST = 22k alone [in 3 days, each ~7k]

Looks like I'm going to be really glad to see April roll around, and not because of the end of school, either... LOL. But spring break, the 38k week, is going to throw a monkey wrench in the works, since the 20k with CAST will be more like 12k with the J-ville Masters team, leaving me to make up an entire 26k on my own, but I'll make it work. I may cut myself a break that week, seeing as I'll be running the River Run, and I also may not spend the entire break in Jacksonville. It depends if I'm working or not, and at the moment I am really not feeling motivated to do that. We'll see how things go financially over the next couple months. I want a new job, really, but I'd be hard put to find anything that would pay an undergrad as much as driving shuttles.

Hmmm! I just this minute realized I could potentially work in my River Run training on the track on campus during my 50-minute break between French and weight training. What a good idea! I'm just hanging around killing time then anyway, watching the divers or eating granola bars or some such nonsense, and I have to wear the whole running ensemble (sports bra, sneakers, shorts, etc.) for weight training anyway, so no changing clothes. I usually do 5k per run, and I run a 5k in about 35 minutes, so that works out pretty much perfectly. Sure, I'll be tomato-faced and pouring sweat when I get to class, but big whoop - it's a sports class.

Wow, I can't believe I didn't think of that before. Awesome. That's a load off my mind. Not having time to run was worrying me, since I've got the 15k River Run in six weeks, and I'm glad to have come up with a solution. General fitness can compensate for a lack of sport-specific training to an extent, I think - translation: my current regimen of swimming two hours a day, biking an hour every day, and lifting weights twice a week will go a long way towards helping me finish the run without dying - but obviously, to train for a footrace you need to run. I'm not running to win, though, not by any means - I just want to finish, preferably in under 2 hours. I think I can do it, even with the few short walking breaks I will undoubtedly take.

Sorry about that - I said a 'bit' about athletics and it turned into three full paragraphs. Sports are kind of forefront in my mind these days, I guess, what with my simultaneously trying to train for a 24-mile marathon swim, get faster in my pool swimming, lose the rest of my 'Netherlands weight', AND train for a 15k run.

Don't worry, I'll shut up now - I should be studying Latin anyway.

My Stuff

Blogs I Read

Blogging Since 2003

Free Blog Counter
Poker Blog

Powered by Blogger