:: eye of the storm ::

About Me

A 27-year-old PA student who wants to visit all seven continents, write a book, work at a pediatric clinic in Africa, and basically meet as many of the world's challenges as possible.

View my complete profile

current mood:
current mood

Life List

(already accomplished)

Become a PA

Visit all 7 continents

Take a SwimTrek trip

Bike through Western Europe

Raft the Grand Canyon

Improve my Spanish proficiency

Go on safari in Africa

Trace my roots at Ellis Island

Vacation in Hawaii

Work on a hospital ship in a Third World country

Celebrate New Year's in Times Square

Visit all 50 states (29 to go: AK, AZ, AR, CA, CO, HI, ID, IL, IN, IA, KS, MI, MN, MO, MT, NE, NV, NM, ND, OK, OR, RI, SD, TX, UT, VT, WA, WV, WI, WY)

See the ruins at Pompeii

Swim in Capri's Blue Grotto

Tour Mt. Vesuvius

Throw a coin in the Trevi Fountain

Tour the Colosseum

Visit the D-Day beaches

See the Mona Lisa

Visit the palace at Versailles

See the Acropolis and Parthenon

See the Egyptian pyramids

Hike the Inca Trail

Walk El Camino Santiago

Take an Alaskan cruise

View the Taj Mahal at sunrise

Hike Table Mountain in South Africa

Climb through the Amazon canopy

Walk at least part of the Great Wall of China

Get laser hair removal

Learn to surf, ski, and snowboard

Learn to drive a stick-shift

Learn to play the piano

Go on a tropical cruise

Ride horseback on the beach

Ride in a hot air balloon

Get tickets to the Olympics

Go to adult Space Camp

Witness a shuttle launch from up close

Build a full-sized snowman

Sew a quilt out of my old race T-shirts

Update and continue my Life Scrapbook

Become the oldest person to ever do the River Run

Live to be a happy, healthy 100 years old - at least!

(unlikely dreams)

zaterdag 17 december 2005

2 hours and 11 minutes, the laptop battery says, so I'll be brief.

I saw Martin this morning and gave him Jolanda's telephone and my converter; we had Turkish pizzas and walked around in the nasty weather, just talking. It was good to see him again, and it sounds like things are going well for him. He's thinking about doing some sort of computer-oriented program of study in the near future.

I also saw Linde, which was great, as usual. She's always so busy that it's great when we do get to spend some time together. We walked around the outdoor mall, visited her brother and sister at their jobs, and ate a light dinner at her house - soup and baguette bread with various spreads (the Dutch know spreads, let me tell you), plus some pistachios and chocolate-covered raisins. I was thinking about it, and I realized I've been friends with Linde for over three and a half years now, which is a long time in the world of college students who change classes every semester and apartments every year. And really, I just love her whole family, and house, and lifestyle... if I had to pick a 'second family' besides my own, they'd be it.

Linde also offered to take me to Schiphol - have I mentioned that I love her? - so I'll spend my last night at her house and then we'll take the car to the airport. We still have to get up around 5:30, but it saves an hour, and is far less stressful (physically and mentally, LOL... I have 4 bags, all heavy.)

Speaking of physical stresses, I seem to have pulled a muscle in my upper back somehow - not sure how I did that.

Also, one more thing to do upon my return: buy new New Balance shoes.

Gotta save some battery power for the next three days... see ya...

My Stuff

Blogs I Read

Blogging Since 2003

Free Blog Counter
Poker Blog

Powered by Blogger